Sermon: “Gearing Up for Suffering through Praise” – 1 Peter 1:3-5 (audio)

In my last semester as a full-time student at Southern, I took at a class called Preaching Practicum. About fifteen fellow students joined our preaching professor, and we preached for one another. Then we would give one another feedback on our sermons. This process was invaluable to me, and I’ve become a big believer in receiving intentional critique on my sermons.

For my first sermon, I had to preach from an epistle. Because I was in a Greek exegesis class on 1 Peter, I decided to preach from this letter. It was an insightful experience to dive into this passage and witness how the Apostle pastored the elect exiles he was writing to.

Here are the few verses I focused on from chapter 1, verses 3-5:

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. In this you rejoice…

Leave a Reply

